book reviews · books

Buddy Read: Shadow Kiss by Richelle Mead


Shadow Kiss by Richelle Mead
Series: Vampire Academy, #3
Genre: Paranormal | Fantasy
Age Range: Young Adult
Format: Paperback, 443 pages
Source: Library
Published on November 13th 2008 by RAZORBILL (first published January 2nd 2008)
Richelle Mead: Website | Twitter | Goodreads

Synopsis:
WHAT IF FOLLOWING HER HEART MEANS ROSE COULD LOSE HER BEST FRIEND FOREVER?

Lissa Dragomir is a Moroi princess: a mortal vampire with a rare gift for harnessing the earth’s magic. She must be protected at all times from Strigoi; the fiercest vampires – the ones who never die. The powerful blend of human and vampire blood that flows through Rose Hathaway, Lissa’s best friend, makes her a Dhampir. Rose is dedicated to a dangerous life of protecting Lissa from the Strigoi, who are hell-bent on making Lissa one of them.

Rose knows it is forbidden to love another guardian. Her best friend, Lissa – the last Dragomir princess – must always come first. Unfortunately, when it comes to gorgeous Dimitri Belikov, some rules are meant to be broken…

Then a strange darkness begins to grow in Rose’s mind, and ghostly shadows warn of a terrible evil drawing nearer to the Academy’s iron gates. The immortal undead are closing in, and they want vengeance for the lives Rose has stolen. In a heart-stopping battle to rival her worst nightmares, Rose will have to choose between life, love, and the two people who matter most… but will her choice mean that only one can survive?

I buddy read Shadow Kiss with Ruby @ Ruby’s Books. This one was my first read in this month but sadly just like with The Mortal Instruments I’m just not as into this series as I was in my early teens. I still enjoy reading this series but I was seriously in love with this series back in 2012, I think. There was just something about forbidden love and amazing friendship between Lissa and Rose but while rereading I’m noticing that they have more flaws than not.

“You will lose what you value most, so treasure it while you can.”

I’m liking Rose’s relationship with Dimitri more in every book but I feel like they should trust each other more after everything they’ve been through? Dimitri believes in tarot reading but not when Rose tells him what she thinks is going on with her and Rose doesn’t believe in Dimitri. Instead of believing that the guy she loves would do everything to lock certain someone up after what he did to Rose and Lissa, she thinks she can do something he can’t. If I was Dimitri I honestly wouldn’t tell her anything since she can’t keep them to herself but when it’s about her own secrets– she doesn’t tell anyone.

Remember when I said in my Vampire Academy review that Lissa and Rose were friendship goals? I take all that back. Lissa can’t even see how miserable Rose is when even Adrian can and Dimitri can tell when Rose is lying while Lissa can’t. Then Christian of all people believed in Rose, while Lissa who has known her, her whole life didn’t?

I get that Lissa just wanted Rose to start having fun, to be as happy as she is but Rose just lost someone close to her and she should start thinking about dating? Then what Lissa tried to do at the end of the book, on top of trying to make it about herself. I’m not saying Rose is perfect either. She kept all those secrets from Lissa and she should really share her feelings instead of keeping them bottled up “to keep her safe”.

My cigarettes and I are going outside. At least they show me some respect.”

I’m glad to see all these characters from Bloodlines in these books; Adrian, Eddie and even Jill. I can’t wait Sydney to make her appearance too. Rose is the main character, so I feel like I should find her less annoying but I just don’t. On top of everything I wish she would give Adrian some credit. She thinks he just wants to have sex her, I get it but how about everything he does for her? How can she dislike him, I mean he’s Adrian and making promises she knows she won’t keep is just wrong, just like Adrian asking her to give that promise after what JUST happened was wrong.

I’m kinda sad that what happened in Frostbite changed Eddie but it also makes him better guardian. Thankfully he didn’t turn totally into another brooding character and still can quickly smile and laugh.

In the end so far I’m liking every book more and more. It’s a sad one and I might dislike many things but I still really enjoy this world. Somehow almost all iconic quote is from Adrian but I guess I shouldn’t be surprised.

Rating
3.5 stars
You can find Ruby in her: Blog | Twitter | Goodreads

Leave a comment