book tag · books

Tag: The Umbrella Academy

 

umbrella academy tag.png

I was in a mood for a tag, so here’s one I was tagged by Rain @ Bookdragonism back in April. This has been on my drafts for awhile even though I finished the first season not long after it came to Netflix. I don’t know why I keep watching these superhero shows but I just adored Klaus and can’t wait to see seasons two.


1. HELLO: NAME THE BEST FIRST BOOK IN A SERIES

I have to go with The Dreadful Tale of Prosper Redding and Passenger by Alexandra Bracken. I don’t know what it’s about her first books of the series but I keep getting disappointed with her sequels.

2. THE HARGREEVES CHILDREN: NAME A BIG BOOK FAMILY (DYSFUNCTION IS OPTIONAL)

Amazingly enough I don’t know many big book families. Black Dagger Brotherhood by J.R Ward isn’t technically a family since they aren’t blood related but it is the biggest family I know, and they’re dysfunctional. The brotherhood treats is other like they’re brothers, so I think it counts-

3. THE WORLD ENDS IN 8 DAYS: IF YOU ONLY HAD EIGHT DAYS LEFT, WHICH BOOK WOULD YOU CHOOSE TO BE YOUR LAST READ?

I barely can make normal choices, like which food to pick but you expect me to choose the last book I’m ever going to read? It would probably be The Wicked King by Holly Black. I STILL HAVEN’t READ IT.

4. SPACE BOY: NAME A CHARACTER WHO PLAYS THE LEADER, BUT MAY NOT BE CUT OUT FOR IT

Alec Lightwood from The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare. He might like control and keep his siblings safe but he can’t even stop his siblings doing stupid things and how did it take so long to kill his first demon? Did he just let Jace and Izzy to kill them all?

5. THROWING KNIVES: WHAT LITERARY WEAPON WOULD YOU WANT IN YOUR ARSENAL?

Instead of going literal (like hardcover book) I’m going with few weapons I’ve seen in books.

  • Slayer’s Scythe from Buffy Comics by Joss Whedon
  • Sword of Summer from Magnus Chase and Percy’s sword from Percy Jackson by Rick Riordan. Sword of Summer could keep me company and he’s hilarious but Percy’s sword is so easy to travel with!
6. I HEARD A RUMOUR: NAME A BOOK THAT HAS A MISLEADING PLOT LINE

I’ll probably always go with The Wicked Deep by Shea Ernshaw for this one. I liked the mystery but I’m forever bitter about the lack of witchcraft.

7. KLAUS: NAME A BOOK THAT INVOLVES THE DEAD / GHOSTS / ETC

Existence by Abbi Glines. This is another book series that I’ve never finished, so I guess I should re-read the first few books.

8. THE BOY: RECOMMEND A BOOK THAT PLAYS WITH TIME (WHETHER IT BE IN DUAL TIMELINES, INVOLVING TIME TRAVEL, ETC.)

Transcendence by Shay Savage requires unique taste but I loved it! Modern woman travels back in time and falls in love with literal caveman. It’s a romance book, so it’s not historically accurate.

9. VANYA: NAME A CHARACTER WHO HAS BURIED POTENTIAL

I needed a minute to think about this but I decided to go with George Lovelace from Tales From the Shadowhunter Academy. I won’t get more into it because of spoilers but my boy deserved better.

10. LUTHER AND ALLISON: NAME A QUESTIONABLE BOOK COUPLE, AND WHY YOU DO OR DON’T LIKE THEM

Okay, so I read Addicted To You by Krista and Becca Ritchie a little while ago. I know Loren and Lily mostly have a toxic relationship but does that stop me from loving them? Nope. They are one of the only friends to lovers bookish ships I like. They are just so real and they’re really trying to fight their addictions to be together.

11. HAZEL AND CHA CHA: PICK A DEADLY BOOK DUO

I just love some kickass couples but I think I’m going to go with Layla and Roth from The Dark Elements in this one. There’s so many others but both of these characters are dangerous alone, but they’re even more deadly together.

12. GOODBYE: WHAT’S THE BEST FINALE?

I don’t have that many finales I adore but my favorite one is Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare. I just can’t name a book that made me so happy and sad at the same time.

I tag

7 thoughts on “Tag: The Umbrella Academy

  1. I haven’t read most of the books you’ve listed, but I recently read the first two volumes of Umbrella Academy (after marathoning season 1) and this looks like a fun tag!

    honestly I wasn’t the biggest fan of Passenger, so if the sequels get worse I’m glad I didn’t make myself keep reading the series. most of the big book families that come to mind are from childrens’ books, like Cheaper By the Dozen or Leaving the Bellweathers, and/or they’re found families like the crew of the Wayfarer (from the book Small Angry Planet) or the Dregs (Six of Crows) 🤔

    I think I’d take the opposite approach, if I only had eight days left, I’d return to a childhood favorite since it’s a known entity so I can be sure my last read is a good one. but as to which one, hm choices are hard.

    Like

    1. I don’t know of those families. I never finished SOC, so I’m not sure if I ever came across Dregs.

      That one would be great choice too! It’s just that I didn’t really get to reading until I was a teenager and I don’t own the only books I was obsessed over when I was a child. I was so obsessed with TV show Charmed that even though I didn’t normally read much I practically inhaled all the books based to that show. Also your opinion to childhood favorite can change. What if you end up disliking it? Not only is your last book not enjoyable but also it would feel like the memory wouldn’t be that good anymore about it.

      Like

      1. lol the Dregs are the main characters in SoC, so Kaz, Inej, and all of them – I don’t know where you stopped reading but if you got a good ways into it you probably met at least some of them 😜

        I can see where you’re coming from with childhood favorites, but for me personally I’m the kind of person who revisits childhood favorites every few years so I actually do know for a fact that I’d still like them upon rereading; and even when I reread a book and don’t like it as much, the memories are still precious to me. but to each their own ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

        Like

      2. Then I did. I read exactly 100 pages before I ended up DNF’ing it. I’m glad to hear that about you childhood favorites. It would suck big time to ruin those good memories.

        Like

Leave a comment