book tag · books

Tag: Mid-Year Book Freak Out

mid year.png

Everyone is doing this tag, so I wanted to give it a shot. I was tagged by Kristina and by tagging I mean she let it open for anyone who wanted to do it.

I put 100 books as my reading goal this year and I’ve read 66 of them so far. I went a little crazy on May and finished over 20 books. I was waiting new books to arrive and then suddenly I was rereading Black Dagger Brotherhood and Inside Out series.

The books I ordered arrived few months late but they finally arrived here few weeks ago and I’m so happy to start all of them.

I’m not going to count the books I reread in this tag.

Best Books You’ve Read So Far In 2018

I have given five books (from the books I read for the first time) a five stars rating, but I’d say the best one would be Cress by Marissa Meyer. It’s rare to me love a book that isn’t like 80% of romance but the story and characters were just so good! Cress and Thorne scenes just gave me life. I can’t wait to read Winter soon to find out what happens next.

Best Sequel of 2018 so far?

So far the best sequel I’ve read is The Ship Of The Dead by Rick Riordan. This book might be the only book I’ve preordered and I’m so glad I did. Rick Riordan books are like the only books I love and wouldn’t care if there was zero romance. Most people think that Percy Jackson is the best series of this writer but I actual love Magnus Chase more.

New release you haven’t read yet, but want to?

I have actually two books to this one; Restore Me by Taherem Mafi and A Court Of Frost And Starlight by Sarah J. Maas. I love both Shatter Me and ACOTAR series and can’t wait to see what happens in those sequels.

Most anticipated release of the second half of 2018

I don’t want to be too obvious and say Kingdom Of Ash by Sarah J. Maas, so I’m going with The Darkest Star by Jennifer L. Armentrout. I love both The Dark Elements and Lux series by her. This upcoming book is actually the first book of Lux spin-off. I can’t wait to read more about Luc!

Biggest disappointment?

There were a lot of books I was disappointed in but I think the one I was the most disappointed with was Shadow And Bone by Leigh Bardugo. Many people love Grisha Trilogy but I don’t just get the hype. I bought all three books because one of my twitter mutuals hyped Nikolai (who I think won’t appear until book two) so much. I even dnf’d this book for awhile until I made myself finish it. The only character I actually enjoyed reading about was The Darkling and I don’t think he’s worth it to read a whole series about Mal and Alina’s boring romance.

Biggest surprise?

I rarely read comics, so imagine my surprise when when I loaned Saga volume 1 from the library and actually loved it. The only comics I usually read are Buffy The Vampire Slayer. Saga just sounded so interesting that I had to give it a shot. In past few years I’ve found that alien books (especially the smutty ones) are my weakness, so after hearing someone in Booktube talking about adult alien comics, count me in!

Favourite new (to me) author?

I didn’t find many new authors but I really enjoyed Alexandra Bracken‘s book Passenger, so I’ll go with her. Unfortunately I haven’t read sequel or The Darkest Minds yet but I really enjoyed the writing in this book.

Newest favorite character?

I didn’t get many new character’s that I went gaga over but I guess I could go with Carswell Thorne from The Lunar Chronicles. Can’t wait to read more about him in Winter.

Book That Made You Cry?

I don’t think there were any, so I’m going to mention few books that have made me cry in the past; Tales From The Shadowhunter Academy and Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare. Also The Shadows by J.R Ward. Those people who have read them, know what I’m talking about.

Book That Made You Happy

I think most of them did at some point, but I’ll say One With You by Sylvia Day. This was the last book of one of my favorite contemporary series; Crossfire and while I think there was a lot of loose ends, I’m so happy that Gideon and Eva got their HEA.

Favourite book to movie/ TV adaptation you’ve seen this year?

For the movie I’ll go with Love, Simon. I was planning on waiting for the DVD but my best friend surprised me  few months ago when she told me she had free tickets and she wanted I wanted to see Simon vs. Homosapiens Agenda on the big screen. I don’t think if I can go with a TV show that didn’t start this year, but since I’m still not over the cancellation of Shadowhunters. Don’t mind that sound. It’s just me crying. I’ll recommend watching, even if only to watch the best gay ship ever; Malec.

Favourite post you’ve written this year?

This is pretty easy one, since I’ve only made few posts. I know my post about my top 3 gay ships -post didn’t get many likes, but I was really proud of that one. I ship a lot, and enjoy talking about them. I might do a post about my other ships in a later date. My TV OTPs like Klaroline and Spuffy need attention.

Most Beautiful Book You Bought or Received So Far This Year

I really like the cover of Winter by Marissa Meyer. Just look at it! Picture credit to Goodreads, like always.

What books do you need to read by the end of the year?

Some of the books I need to read before the end of the year are The Cruel Prince by Holly Black, Claimed by Alexa Riley, Wayfarer by Alexandra Bracken, Restore Me by Tahereh Mafi, A Court Of Frost And Starlight by Sarah J. Maas and The Falconer by Elizabeth May. I haven”t ordered the last one yet but hopefully soon because I have heard so many good things about the series.


I’ll tag everyone who is interested in this tag. I had so much fun doing it.

4 thoughts on “Tag: Mid-Year Book Freak Out

Leave a comment