book reviews · books

Book Review: Black Dawn by Rachel Caine

 


Black Dawn by Rachel Caine 
Series: The Morganville Vampires, #12
Genre: Fantasy | Paranormal
Age Range: Young Adult
Format: Paperback, 507 pages
Source: My Copy
Published on May 1st 2012 by Allison & Bubsy
Rachel Caine: Website | Twitter | Goodreads

Synopsis:
The Morganville vampires are fighting a losing war, and it will fall to the residents of the Glass House: Michael, Eve, Shane and Claire, to take the fight to an enemy who threatens to destroy the town, forever.


I started this series back when I was still in secondary school. The Morganville Vampires is very, very long series so it has taken forever to get here. I started Black Dawn immediately after Last Breath back in 2017 but I was pretty bored, so I DNF’d after about 100 pages. It has been hunting from my bookshelves since but I finally finished it.

I didn’t like Myrnin’s behavior in this book. I usually love his crazy self but his choices made me want to scream at him. I was so happy he was wearing his vampire bunny slippers, though in that one scene. Can I order those somewhere? I don’t even wear slippers but I want them.

“It was easy to love somebody when love was happy, but when it was hard, when it meant facing things you feared… that was different.”

I still find Shane and Claire’s relationship sweet, after all these years. I love that Shane could anchor and made her feel less out of control by only holding her hand. I like how they are the same. Shane still wonders how smart, pretty girl like Claire wants him and she knew that Shane could do better than her.

I can’t say the same about Michael and Eve. I like those two as characters but I never really got their relationship. I guess it just doesn’t make sense to me why people are so surprised when their vampire boyfriend suddenly gets a little too carried away when you give them your blood. It’s like just because they act like human, you forget what they really are. I didn’t like how Eve thought even for a second of leaving him but then epilogue was what it was. It might’ve been different if we actually got a POV about what made her change her mind.

Rating
3 stars

Leave a comment