book reviews · books

Book Review: Tangled Like Us by Krista and Becca Ritchie


Tangled Like Us by Krista Ritchie and Becca Ritchie
Series: Like Us, #4
Genre: Contemporary | Romance
Age Range: Adult Audience
Format: Paperback, 436 pages
Source: My Copy
Published on January 17th 2019 by Brower Literary & Management, Inc.
Krista Ritchie: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Becca Ritchie: Website | Twitter | Goodreads

Synopsis:
How to protect your heart:
Let your bodyguard have it.

Jane Cobalt is an American princess. The loyal and painfully curious twenty-three-year-old has inherited immense pressure to preserve the Cobalt legacy. But for Jane — sex, love, and life have been a series of royal failures.

After a friends-with-benefits ended in disaster, she’s sworn to a “no sex” hiatus for, well, eternity — and she has no intention of letting anyone in her bed and definitely not her heart.

Twenty-eight-year-old Thatcher Moretti is painfully professional. As the stern 24/7 bodyguard to Jane, thinking about unbridled sex with his sweet client is a sin. One that he keeps committing.

But the real act is a hard line he’d never cross.

When a family member betrays Jane’s trust, the media becomes obsessed with matchmaking the perpetually “single” Jane Cobalt and unwanted attention suddenly compromises her safety.

Thatcher would do anything to protect her, and one solution may level the threats:

Become the fake boyfriend to an American princess.

Entwined together with boiling chemistry, new “professional” parameters, and an oath, unsaid feelings threaten to rise and change everything.


Tangled Like Us is fourth book to Like Us series aka Addicted to You spin off.  I heard from many people, including Sara @ The Bibliophagist that Moffy and Farrow’s books are the only one worth my attention. But did I listen? Of course not.

I should’ve listened but since I enjoyed first books so much I thought this one would be no different.

Jane isn’t like her family. She isn’t confident and she doesn’t know what she wants to do with her life. Jane constantly feels like she isn’t good enough.

Tangled Like Us is another bodyguard romance but I just couldn’t connect with either Jane nor Thatcher. She runs on loyalty and trust– like he does. Neither likes keeping secrets from people close to them but they do to keep their relationship a secret.

I did love how well he knew her cats.

I didn’t feel like we really learned anything new besides Thatcher’s past with his ex girlfriends. I just didn’t really see the relationship going anywhere besides having sex with each other. Jane and Thatcher didn’t really act like relationship was going nowhere, so the ending felt like out of nowhere.

I still have next two books, so I will still read those even if this one was such a disappointment. 

Rating
2 stars

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Tangled Like Us by Krista and Becca Ritchie

    1. I loved their Addicted series and Marrow books from this series. Calloway sisters was alright but Jane and Thatchers books were total miss for me compared to their other work. I get why you wouldn’t like their work but I just love Lily, Lo, Moffy and Farrow.

      Like

Leave a comment