book reviews · books

Book Review: Ace of Hearts by Chantal Fernando


Ace of Hearts by Chantal Fernando 
Series: The Cursed Ravens MC, #1
Genre: Romance
Age Range: Adult Audience
Format: eBook, 228 pages
Source: Scribd
Published on June 11th 2018 by Pocket Star
Chantal Fernando: Website | Twitter | Goodreads

Synopsis:
The New York Times bestselling author of the “swoonworthy and addicting” (Kim Karr, New York Times bestselling author) Wind Dragons Motorcycle Club series is back with more bad boy bikers in this first novel in the Cursed Ravens Motorcycle Club series.
Erin Dawson had the perfect life growing up in a perfect home with a perfect family. Her parents gave her and her sister everything a child could want. But after learning that the man she’s called “dad” her whole life isn’t actually her biological father, Erin is determined to find the man who is.
Armed with her original birth certificate, she finds her father, but begins questioning if her mom had been right all along to keep this information buried. It turns out he is the president of a motorcycle club, which could not be further from the life Erin leads. But, she’s determined to get to know the man who she gets her striking blue eyes from. Despite getting what she wants and finding her biological father, it’s the slightly older, much rougher but incredibly sexy biker Ace that catches Erin’s eye.
As the new “princess” of the Cursed Ravens, Erin is learning a whole new world, but her father has made it clear she is off limits. Will Ace follow his President’s orders or will he put his heart ahead of his duty? A sizzling tale of family and passion, Ace of Hearts features Fernando’s signature “snark and sass” (Booklist) and is perfect for fans of Kristin Ashley.

Continue reading “Book Review: Ace of Hearts by Chantal Fernando”

book reviews · books

Book Review: Welcome to the Dark Side by Giana Darling


Welcome to the Dark Side by Giana Darling 
Series: The Fallen Men, #2
Genre: Romance
Age Range: Adult Audience
Format: Hardcover
Source: My Copy
Published on September 10th 2021 (first published April 18th 2018)
Giana Darling: Website | Twitter | Goodreads

Synopsis:
I was a good girl.
I ate my vegetables, volunteered at the local autism centre and sat in the front pew of church every Sunday.
Then, I got cancer.
What the hell kind of reward was that for a boring life well lived?
I was a seventeen-year-old paradigm of virtue and I was tired of it.
So, when I finally ran into the man I’d been writing to since he saved my life as a little girl and he offered to show me the dark side of life before I left it for good, I said yes.
Only, I didn’t know that Zeus Garro was the President of The Fallen MC and when you made a deal with a man who is worse than the devil, there was no going back…

This is Daddy Zeus Garro’s story from Lessons In Corruption. A standalone in The Fallen Men Series.

Continue reading “Book Review: Welcome to the Dark Side by Giana Darling”

book reviews · books

Book Review: The Sweetest Oblivion by Danielle Lori


The Sweetest Oblivion by Danielle Lori 
Series: Made, #1
Genre: Romance
Age Range: Adult Audience
Format: Paperback, 384 pages
Source: My Copy
Published on June 20th 2018 by CreateSpace
Danielle Lori: Website | Instagram | Goodreads

Synopsis:
She’s a romantic at heart, living in the most unromantic of worlds . . .

Nicknamed Sweet Abelli for her docile nature, Elena smiles on cue and has a charming response for everything. She’s the favored daughter, the perfect mafia principessa . . . or was.

Now, all she can see in the mirror’s reflection is blood staining her hands like crimson paint.

They say first impressions are everything . . .

In the murky waters of New York’s underworld, Elena’s sister is arranged to marry Nicolas Russo. A Made Man, a boss, a cheat—even measured against mafia standards. His reputation stretches far and wide and is darker than his black suits and ties. After his and Elena’s first encounter ends with an accidental glare on her part, she realizes he’s just as rude as he is handsome.

She doesn’t like the man or anything he stands for, though that doesn’t stop her heart from pattering like rain against glass when he’s near, nor the shiver that ghosts down her spine at the sound of his voice.

And he’s always near. Telling her what to do. Making her feel hotter than any future brother-in-law should. Elena may be the Sweet Abelli on the outside, but she’s beginning to learn she has a taste for the darkness, for rough hands, cigarettes, and whiskey-colored eyes. Having already escaped one scandal, however, she can hardly afford to be swept up in another.

Besides, even if he were hers, everyone knows you don’t fall in love with a Made Man . . . right?

This is a standalone forbidden romance.

Continue reading “Book Review: The Sweetest Oblivion by Danielle Lori”

book reviews · books

Book Review: Lessons in Corruption by Giana Darling


Lessons in Corruption by Giana Darling 
Series: The Fallen Men, #1
Genre: Romance
Age Range: Adult Audience
Format: Paperback, 378 pages
Source: My Copy
Published on December 1st 2017 by Giana Darling (first published November 29th 2017)
Giana Darling: Website | Twitter | Goodreads

Synopsis:
He was eighteen.
The heir to a notorious, criminal MC.
And my student.

There was no way I could get involved.
No way I could stay involved.
Then, no way I could get out alive.

Continue reading “Book Review: Lessons in Corruption by Giana Darling”

book reviews · books

Book Review: Rhapsodic By Laura Thalassa


Rhapsodic by Laura Thalassa 
Series: The Bargainer, #1
Genre: Fantasy
Age Range: New Adult
Format: Paperback, 326 pages
Source: My Copy
Published on November 15th 2016 by Lavabrook Publishing Group
Laura Thalassa: Website Twitter Goodreads

Synopsis:
Callypso Lillis is a siren with a very big problem, one that stretches up her arm and far into her past. For the last seven years she’s been collecting a bracelet of black beads up her wrist, magical IOUs for favors she’s received. Only death or repayment will fulfill the obligations. Only then will the beads disappear.

Everyone knows that if you need a favor, you go to the Bargainer to make it happen. He’s a man who can get you anything you want… at a price. And everyone knows that sooner or later he always collects.

But for one of his clients, he’s never asked for repayment. Not until now. When Callie finds the fae king of the night in her room, a grin on his lips and a twinkle in his eye, she knows things are about to change. At first it’s just a chaste kiss—a single bead’s worth—and a promise for more.

For the Bargainer, it’s more than just a matter of rekindling an old romance. Something is happening in the Otherworld. Fae warriors are going missing one by one. Only the women are returned, each in a glass casket, a child clutched to their breast. And then there are the whispers among the slaves, whispers of an evil that’s been awoken.

If the Bargainer has any hope to save his people, he’ll need the help of the siren he spurned long ago. Only, his foe has a taste for exotic creatures, and Callie just happens to be one.

Continue reading “Book Review: Rhapsodic By Laura Thalassa”