book reviews · books

Book Review: Ace of Hearts by Chantal Fernando


Ace of Hearts by Chantal Fernando 
Series: The Cursed Ravens MC, #1
Genre: Romance
Age Range: Adult Audience
Format: eBook, 228 pages
Source: Scribd
Published on June 11th 2018 by Pocket Star
Chantal Fernando: Website | Twitter | Goodreads

Synopsis:
The New York Times bestselling author of the “swoonworthy and addicting” (Kim Karr, New York Times bestselling author) Wind Dragons Motorcycle Club series is back with more bad boy bikers in this first novel in the Cursed Ravens Motorcycle Club series.
Erin Dawson had the perfect life growing up in a perfect home with a perfect family. Her parents gave her and her sister everything a child could want. But after learning that the man she’s called “dad” her whole life isn’t actually her biological father, Erin is determined to find the man who is.
Armed with her original birth certificate, she finds her father, but begins questioning if her mom had been right all along to keep this information buried. It turns out he is the president of a motorcycle club, which could not be further from the life Erin leads. But, she’s determined to get to know the man who she gets her striking blue eyes from. Despite getting what she wants and finding her biological father, it’s the slightly older, much rougher but incredibly sexy biker Ace that catches Erin’s eye.
As the new “princess” of the Cursed Ravens, Erin is learning a whole new world, but her father has made it clear she is off limits. Will Ace follow his President’s orders or will he put his heart ahead of his duty? A sizzling tale of family and passion, Ace of Hearts features Fernando’s signature “snark and sass” (Booklist) and is perfect for fans of Kristin Ashley.


“Just because someone is not who you want them to be, it does not mean they are incapable of good.”

It has been awhile since I picked about MC romance book but this one caught my eye and I decided to give it a try. I liked that it wasn’t only about romance but also Erin connecting with her biological father and his motorcycle club.

Erin is impulsive, so when she found out that her father wasn’t really her father she decided to find out the person who gave her half of her DNA. She didn’t have a bad childhood and she grew up with strong idea of right and wrong but she hated being lied to. Erin ended up liking the MC but she didn’t like the way they treated women.

Erin ended up falling for Ace, despite seeing him with two different women when they met. He didn’t need to work for sex and doesn’t regret a second of it but that didn’t stop him treating Erin like she deserved, with respect. I liked how they talked about their relationship before starting something. She made it clear what happened if he slept with someone else and she had enough self-respect to make it clear she wasn’t to be played with.

Erin’s father’s reaction to her wasn’t perfect but he had no idea he had a daughter and after the shock he did everything he could to keep her with him and to show how much she meant to him. When it came to her daughter, her safety was his priority. Some of his actions sucked but I love that he didn’t try to stop Erin and Ace being together even though he didn’t want anyone from the MC with her.

All in all worth of the read. I liked everything about it but couldn’t rate it five stars since I predicated the one who was trying to poison Erin. I’m a sucker for family, so I loved that she was able to connect with her father but I hated the mother for trying to keep it from her just so she was able to get her “perfect” life. I’m definitely going to keep reading the series.

Rating
4 stars

One thought on “Book Review: Ace of Hearts by Chantal Fernando

  1. *adds to tbr* It’s been such a long time since I read an MC book, but this sounds like it might be the book to get me back in the genre. I will definitely read it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s