book reviews · books

Book Review: The Indigo Spell by Richelle Mead

 


The Indigo Spell by Richelle Mead
Series: Bloodlines, #3
Genre: Paranormal | Fantasy
Age Range: Young Adult
Format: Paperback, 401 pages
Source: My Copy
Published on February 12th 2013 by Razorbill
Richelle Mead: Website | Twitter | Goodreads

Synopsis:

An ancient magic. A heart-wrenching decision… Sydney Sage is an Alchemist. She protects vampire secrets – and human lives. In the aftermath of a forbidden moment that rocked Sydney to her core, she is struggling to decide between following her Alchemist teachings – or her heart. Then she meets alluring, rebellious Marcus Finch, a former Alchemist who is now on the run. As Marcus pushes her to rebel, Sydney finds that breaking free is harder than she thought. There is an old and mysterious magic rooted deeply within her. And as Sydney searches for the person attacking powerful young witches, she realizes that she must embrace her magical blood – or else she will be next..


  • Aww Sydney misses Adrian’s friendship.
  • Sydney is braver than me about spiders.
  • Zoe is still a brat.
  • HOPPERRRR! I don’t need protection but I still want one.

Sydney has come far from the way she was in the first book. She feels like she doesn’t know who she is anymore but she doesn’t protest against magic anymore. It was nice to see her actually doing spells instead of just complain about them but I wish Mead showed more of her alchemy side.

Sydney is such a kickass in this book. She can handle herself well but I like how Adrian gets when he hears that someone hit her because he was “defending her honor”.

I’m such a bad student but I feel bad that Sydney feels like she can’t never fulfill her dream about going to college because inheriting Alchemist mantle meant that she can’t.

It’s always nice to see Adrian be jealous but like I really enjoy Sydney being jealous too? Especially because she knows how he feels for her.

Why are these two so perfect?

“But when I touch you, your aura … it smolders. The colors deepen, it burns more intensely, the purple increases. Why? Why, Sydney?” He used that hand to pull me closer. “Why do you react that way if I don’t mean anything to you?”

I was so glad that Sydney finally spelled Hopper! I didn’t remember many things about him, like that he’s a demon. I knew that Sydney can only have him for a year and a day but I can’t imagine that when Adrian’s story comes out Hopper might be gone *cries*.

I’m was pretty sick of Jill’s attitude towards Sydney during this book. I get it that she felt what Adrian felt and that sucked but I kinda get why Sydney was hot and cold towards Adrian, even though if I wanted them to get together already.

Rating
5 stars

 

One thought on “Book Review: The Indigo Spell by Richelle Mead

Leave a comment